My Attempt At Mejadra

First, I will begin by saying, it was absolutely delicious.

Now for the story (I seem to be full of ’em lately).  I have somewhat of an obsession (oxymoron?) with Wikipedia. Although the site may not be entirely true (head nod to university students), it is a really cool, accessible tool for finding information about stuff – I use the word “stuff” because there is just about everything on Wikipedia.  On one of my typical surfs through the fantastical sight, I discovered that Wikipedia has a side project (it has many like Wikiquote, Mediawiki, Wikinews, the list goes on and on; you get the picture) and this project is called “Wikibooks” one of which is a sub-wiki of sorts called “Cookbook” and that is where I stumbled upon the recipe for Mejadra.  Mejadra is a dish served from Middle Eastern cuisine and is full of carbohydrates (have no fear) and proteins – lentils and rice. Needless to say I was thoroughly pleased with the recipe layout and it turned out well. My only complaint is that spices and such (like baharat) lacked measurements, so I ended up guessing the spice blends – to my success.

Here is a photo of the complete, assembled Mejadra:

IMG_01

 

For those wondering what baharat is: quite simply it’s a blend of spices. Sweet pepper, black pepper, cinnamon, coriander, cumin, nutmeg, cloves, and cardamom. Simply delicious! Here is a somewhat helpful picture of the blend of spices I had left over:

Trust me, it smells like heaven!

IMG_02